Road Trip Diaries: Hello Denver

After our overnight trip to the Blue Lakes of Mount Sneffels, Joy and I made our way towards Denver. I had an old friend to visit, and a shower to take. We had been on our road trip for about a week and a half by this point, and I was getting pretty filthy. Bathing in the green Colorado River and various alpine lakes can only get you so clean.

P1110894-1184

On the road to Denver

P1110897-1185

Striking land formations along the highway

I can see why they named this state Colorado. There were rainbows everywhere.

P1110906-1187

Rainbow Pony was all about it.
P1110907-1188

Back in 2012-2013 when I traveled through Peru and Bolivia for two months, I began my trip with a four day backpacking trek on the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu with a group of 21 other people. Raina, one of the women on the trip and my tent partner, basically took care of me when I became crazy weak from altitude sickness and could barely finish the trip. She ended up being my guardian angel and saved my ass from being dragged out of there by a helicopter (or one of the porters). I pretty much owe her my life.

Raina lives in Denver with her (now) husband, baby, and dog. I hit her up to say hi and find a bit of refuge for one night. I guess that means I owe her twice now.

P1110939-1194

Puppy meets Rainbow Pony

I love Raina because she seems to be living the dream life in Colorado: got a man, got a gorgeous house, got a good group of girlfriends, got a baby and a dog. After catching up with her for a bit and taking showers, Joy and I crashed in the downstairs guest room. The next morning we took our hosts to brunch to appreciate them for all their help. I remember that the ribs were pretty amazing.

P1110927-1192

After brunch we were back on the road again. The rain came down hard as we drove off toward our next destination: Rocky Mountain National Park.

P1110961-1196

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

