35’s the New 21: Joy and Tiff’s Left Coast Road Trip 2013!

Gawwwdamn. It’s been a busy year! Returned from my two month trip to Peru and Bolivia in the end of February. Applied and got into grad school for the 2013-2014 school year. Just finished up my last day of my job (of the past nine years!) yesterday. I came up with this idea last year, but I never had a chance to execute it.

Joy and I are about to embark on a mini-bucket list dream of mine to hit up as many National Parks as we can from Cali to Arizona, up to Utah, Colorado and Wyoming…to our MAIN goal of reaching Glacier National Park in Montana, back down through Washington, Oregon, and back to the Bay Area. I guess it’s not so much of a “cross country trip” as it is just a “road trip loop” of the north and southwest United States. Except for Nevada. Ain’t nobody got time for Nevada!

Follow along with our adventures HERE!

CALIFORNIA

  • Blue Lakes Campground, El Dorado National Forest

ARIZONA

  • Grand Canyon (the cooler side)

UTAH

  • Zion National Park
  • Bryce Canyon National Park
  • Capitol Reef National Park
  • Canyonlands National Park
  • Arches National Park

COLORADO

  • Mesa Verde
  • Mt. Sneffles
  • Denver
  • Rocky Mountain National Park

WYOMING

  • Grand Tetons
  • Yellowstone National Park

MONTANA

  • Glacier National Park

IDAHO

  • Coeur D’Alene

WASHINGTON

  • North Cascades
  • Goat Lake
  • Olympic National Park

OREGON

  • Portland
  • Crater Lake

CALIFORNIA

  • Lassen National Park (?)
  • BACK TO THE BAY AREA!

Any recommendations on hikes to do, places to go, other parks to see? I know this is a bit of an ambitious list for a month, but we’ll see how it all goes!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “35’s the New 21: Joy and Tiff’s Left Coast Road Trip 2013!

  1. Janet says:

    What a wonderful trip. I know people who are doing the same thing now, however, they waited until their 60’s to do it. Looking forward to your upcoming posts. Have fun!

  2. jayang says:

    Have fuuuuuun!

  3. PilotPete says:

    So check it out. I have tried to post twice already, and lost both due to losing my wireless connection on my Ipad. Normally I don’t post on random peoples blog (not sure I ever have), and the fact that I am attempting a third time means I really feel compelled, or I have finally lost it (my sanity that is). Your gear review on the Apex 3 brought me here. Anyway, being a native of Utah (now living in Europe), I just wanted to make two suggestions. Easily in the top three of Utah hikes, at least for me, is the Subway (Zion’s), and Robbers Roost.
    The subway is a day hike, and the narrows can also be done in a day (although fun to camp in the narrows for a night). If time is limited, and you are choosing between the “Zion’s Narrows” and the Subway, choose the latter. I have actually only done the subway one time, and the narrows twice….I think. I also remember the Narrows, being an administrative pain with all the restrictions on weather, camp sites, etc.
    The Robbers Roost area has some history behind it (Butch Cassidy, the Sundance kid, and more recently, Aron Ralston). This is a slot Canyon hike that will likely require some basic small repels, and can be done in an aggressive day (if you go when the days are still long), but best to use 2 days. You can google for a guide book on the Roost, but I can’t comment on how good it is. Enjoy and see as much as you can, congrats on grad school.
    http://www.nps.gov/zion/planyourvisit/thesubway.htm

    • Thanks for the advice! I did the Narrows as a kid but haven’t checked out the Subway yet (I hear that permits for doing it are based on a lottery system now…?) We’re excited – Utah is soooo gorgeous (especially compared to Nevada) but it’s about to be like 108 degrees today. Trying to enjoy Utah without dying in the heat!

  4. PilotPete says:

    err I meant Ajax 3

  5. tepark says:

    how dare you enter my home state of utah without me!!!

Leave a Reply

