Ladies and Gentlemen: the Salar de Uyuni

Despite the heavy rains that had been plaguing southern Bolivia for a few weeks, by the time we got to the Salar de Uyuni, most of the rain water had cleared – except for a layer of water on the actual salt flats itself. Roads were now completely usable, and we had very few fears of our jeep getting stuck out on the cold Salar somewhere.

We awoke at 5 am to get going on the day. During our slow drive, we were greeted by an amazing sunrise that reflected like a mirror on the Salar’s watery surface:

Antes de la amanacer

Antes de la amanacer

Brilliant

Brilliant

Driving through the Salar's waters

Driving through the Salar’s waters

We stopped at the Hotel del Sal and had breakfast. The hotel itself is kinda crazy – it’s completely made of blocks of salt from the Salar! The ceilings, walls, furniture, and strange sculptures were all made from the salt flats.

El Hotel del Salar

El Hotel del Sal

Hotel dining area

Hotel dining area

International flags

International flags

Afterwards, we had a chance to hang out on the Salar and take photos. I wish I had more people to take weird photos with me, but I didn’t feel like doing anything too creative. I kinda regret that now. Some of other groups took some amazing perspective photos!

Here’s mine:

Ninja jump (with the braid in the face)

Ninja jump (with the braid in the face)

Ninja jump #2

Ninja jump #2

Scale

Scale

P1170974P1170955P1170964

The Salar squad

The Salar squad

As dope as the experience was, it was a shame that the rains were too heavy to allow us to visit the “islands” in the middle of the Salar and the volcanos. That will have to be for the next time.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Ladies and Gentlemen: the Salar de Uyuni

  1. where’s this place? I always heard of this place and I really want top bring my camera here!

    • The Salar de Uyuni is in Bolivia, department of Potosi (southern Bolivia, near the Chilean border). Highly recommended! Do a multi-day trek to see all the other gorgeous landscapes in the area…I took photos with my digital point-and-shoot camera (easier to travel with), but it’s better to bring a SLR camera to truly capture the beauty of the landscapes!

      To get to the area, you can take a flight from La Paz (Amazonas Airlines) or take a bus. Or take a bus to Oruro and then take the train to the city of Uyuni (I’ve heard that the bus ride is amazingly beautiful too during the day)…

      • well I don’t have a point and shot camera I only use my pro dslr camera so yeah I would bring my camera for sure, I want to do it, but not too soon, but for sure I want to get some epic photos there to include on my portfolio

Leave a Reply

