Travler’s Diaries: The South America Trip 2013!

So I was pretty sure I was quitting my job this past year to get a bit of a “funemployment” break from working some crazy-ass non-profit hours for the past 10 years. Twas not to be, I guess. I ended up staying on part time to help the organization transition as other staff left. HOWEVER, right before I made the decision to stay on board, I made a spur-of-the-moment decision to plan a 2 month trip to South America. Shit, why not? I’ve been pretty responsible for most of my life, I feel like it’s time to live my 20’s in my mid-30’s.

The wack part about my trip is that I’VE PLANNED NOTHING AT ALL for my itinerary – except for the first few days of the trip, when I planned to Machu Picchu with a group of friends for NYE 2013. Besides that epic trip, I have no idea where to go in Peru, Bolivia or Argentina. All I know is that I’m going to do it broke, and that I really want to go to Patagonia!

Any recommendations on places to go in those three countries? Or other places to go in nearby countries (Chile, etc.)? Any recommendations are extremely welcome!

Ideas on places to visit so far:

Peru: 

* Cusco

* Manu National Park?

* Arequipa

* Puno – Lake Titicaca

Bolivia

* Copacabana

* La Paz

* Sorata

* Rurrenabaque

* Madidi National Park

* Uyuni salt flats

* Cochabamba

Argentina

* Iguazu falls (unless it’s too hot this time of year)

* Buenos Aires (ditto above)

* Cordoba

* Mendoza

* The Lakes District

* Places in Patagonia (Bariloche, el Perito Moreno, etc.)

I want to see glaciers!

Happy travels.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Travler’s Diaries: The South America Trip 2013!

  1. lauren says:

    I”ve been to Iguazu falls and that was beautiful if you wanted a recommendation. I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures.

  2. Colleen says:

    It sounds like you are doing this trip right! I love spur of the moment vacations like this. I’d suggest really talking to the locals in your first few days and asking them for travel recommendations.

    Enjoy your vacation!

  3. Paige says:

    Why are you not coming to Colombia during your months in South America? You are truly missing out.

Leave a Reply

